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TO:  State Employees 
 
SUBJECT: Parking Assignments and Condensed Parking Rules 
 
Your parking assignment has been made under the authority of Rule Number 4.31 and 4.46 of the Texas Department of 
Public Safety.  Below is summary of the rules, it is advisable to review the rules as they are written. Your agency parking 
coordinator has a full set of the rules for your perusal. 
 
Having a parking permit is considered a privilege.  When you accept and use a parking assignment, you accept the 
responsibility to abide by all parking rules and regulations. 
 
If you are transferred to a workstation outside the Capitol Complex or your employment is terminated, you will 
relinquish your parking assignment. 
 
A single specific reserved space may be assigned without charge to car pools consisting of at least three full-time state 
employees who normally drive their vehicles and work within one of the complexes under the parking jurisdiction of the 
Texas Department of Public Safety. 
 
Subleasing a paid reserved space in not permitted.  Loaning such a space with out charge to another qualifying employee 
is permitted if the owner agrees.  
 
All vehicles utilizing a state parking space must display a current parking permit, or temporary hang tag.  Permits can be 
obtained at the Texas Department of Public Safety Capitol Service Office, 1500 North Congress, between 7:30 a.m. and 
4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Temporary permits can be obtained at the same location between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 
p.m., Monday through Friday, if you are driving a vehicle on a temporary basis.  Temporary permits may be issued for a 
period of one (1) to fifteen (15) days. 
 
Open parking assignment permits employees to park in any parking space in the assigned facility except where there is a 
yellow, red, or blue curb stop, or where parking is prohibited by a sign.  
 
Parking assignments are valid from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., on state working days.  Before and after these hours, state 
employees may use an available parking space in any facility.  Holidays that require a skeleton staff are normal 
enforcement days. 
 
You are requested to notify Parking Administration at 463-3476, if there is a violation affecting your parking assignment. 
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The Following are parking violations that will be cause for the issuance of Texas Department of Public Safety citations with a fine of $25.00. 
 

1. Parking overtime in a space which is limited in time by meters or signs, or parking overtime in a loading zone. 
2. Moving a barricade or parking within a barricaded area. 
3. Parking on any lawn, curb, sidewalk or any area, which creates an obstruction to vehicular or pedestrian traffic. 
4. Parking in a “No Parking Zone.” 
5. Parking within 15 feet of a fireplug or within a fire zone. 
6. Failing to park within a lined parking space.  Vehicles shall be parked within the boundaries of the designated lined space.  The fact that 

other vehicles are parked improperly shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any part of the vehicle over the line. 
7. Parking in a loading zone except while loading or unloading. 
8. Parking over 18 inches form the curb or parking stop, measured from any part of the vehicle. 
9. Parking with the rear of the vehicle facing the curb or parking stop. 
10. Parking in a space or facility other than the one assigned, unless authorization has been obtained. 
11. Parking in a designated parking area without displaying proper permit. 
12. Parking upon any unmarked or unimproved area which has not been designated for parking. 
13. Double-parking. 
14. Parking in a disabled space without displaying a proper permit 
15. Possession or use of a lost, stolen or forged permit, a decal or disable permit not belonging to you or permit issued to another vehicle. 
16. Possession or use of a current permit or decal that has been defaced or altered. 
17. Oversized vehicle in a stall marked for small or compact vehicles. 
18. Blocking or impeding a crosswalk, driveway or alley. 
19. Parking in a state parking facility by an employee who has lost the parking privileges due to forfeiture. 
20. Parking on a public street within the Capitol Complex of a vehicle which is owned or operated by a state employee who has been issued a 

current parking permit or decal, which authorized parking in lot or garage with in the Capitol Complex. 
21. Parking in a parking space designated for visitors to the Capitol Complex, when the vehicle is owned or operated by a state employee 

whose principal place of employment is within the Capitol Complex. 
22. Removed or moving a vehicle to which is attached, an immobilization device which was placed on the vehicle under 4.43(f) of this title 

(relating to immobilization of vehicles).  If damage results to the immobilization device, said damage will be prosecuted under the 
applicable provisions of the Penal Code. 

 
The following parking and traffic violations can result in the loss of your state parking privilege: 
 
1. Failure to pay Texas Department of Public Safety parking citations. 
2. Non-Payment of assessed parking fee. 
3. Falsifying data on an application for a parking permit. 
4. Subleasing a parking assignment 
5. The use of a permit that does not belong to you or allowing someone else to use a permit issued to you. 
 
A vehicle is subject to impoundment or immobilization under the following circumstances: 
 
1. Parking in a disable or reserved space without displaying proper permit. 
2. Possession or use of a lost, stolen or forged permit, decal or permit issued to another vehicle. 
3. Parking in a state parking facility when parking privileges have been forfeited. 
4. Parking within any barricaded area. 
5. Parking a vehicle on a curb or sidewalk, or in any manner, which creates an obstruction to vehicular or pedestrian traffic. 
6. Parking in a “No Parking” or fire zone. 
7. A vehicle left on state property for a period of more than 72 hours without the approval of Parking Administration. 
8. May impound or cause to be removed any permit or non-permitted vehicle which has received one or more state citations which have 

not been paid. 
 
A vehicle which has been impounded or immobilized must have all outstanding citations paid before the vehicle will be released. 
 
For more information and assistance, please call your Agency Parking Coordinator or the Parking Administration at 463-3476. 


